So here's a video lesson about going through our "C" major scale shape 4 notes at a time. What we do is we go up 4 notes of our scale then go back to the note after in which we started and go up another 4 notes of the scale and so on.

So in this example D is our root note so we go: D - E - F# - G. One after D is E so then we go through E - F# - G - A. One after E is F# so then we go F# - G - A - B. This example goes throughout only the C Shape.

I have a Play Along playlist in which I go through all 7 shapes of our CAGED system through this exercise with tab and everything. Don't forget to try it throughout all sorts of scales as well though (scales playlist annotated in video).

-Related Lessons-

0:30 - Major Scale Shapes | CO 7/10
0:38 - Minor Scale Shapes | CO 8/10
0:38 - Lydian Dominant Scale (Whole Neck!)
0:38 – Mixolydian (Dominant) Scale (Whole Neck!)
0:38 – Dorian Scale (Whole Neck)

PDF's - 4 Note Scale ExerciseCAGED Scale ShapesMixolydianDorianLydian Dominant & Harmonic Minor

Play Along - Exercises

Other Lessons